CASK AGED GIN

Cask Aged
Ligne de produit

Notre Opyos Cask Aged Gin est un Gin élevé en barrique qui sort chaque année en édition strictement limitée.
La caractéristique commune de cette ligne de produits exclusifs, qui s’est développée au fil des ans, est la passion d’expérimenter avec la diversité des fûts de chêne neufs et reconditionnés. L’interaction entre les caractéristiques de la spiritueuse et des arômes du bois donne naissance à une ligne de produits polyvalentes et excitantes. Faites défiler vers le bas pour découvrir les différents millésimes.

 

Millesime
2019

Chardonnay
Cask Aged Gin

Notre Opyos Chardonnay Cask Aged Gin est la deuxième édition de notre série ‘Cask Aged’ limitée à 999 bouteilles.

Processus
de maturation

Nous avons voulu rendre l’édition 2019 le plus locale que possible, en élevant d’abord notre classique Dry Gin dans des fûts de chêne neuf luxembourgeois, provenant des forêts de Berdorf. Ces barriques moyennement torréfiées ajoutent une complexité supplémentaire à la spiritueuse et renforcent un goût d’épices fraîches, de notes terreuses et une légère sensation de fumée.

Il est ensuite transféré en barriques de Chardonnay de chêne français provenant des caves de la Maison Viticole Schmit-Fohl, afin de capter et d’équilibrer les particularités essentielles du Chardonnay, marquées par des nuances de fruits torréfiés, des arômes épicés de noisette et une couleur claire ambrée.

Notes
de dégustation

Nez

Des notes d’agrumes fraîches et diversifiées apparaissent au début, suivi des touches de nougat et vanille, lesquelles sont complétées par une fumée bien intégrée.

Palais

Complexe, presque sucré, une texture crémeuse, des goûts d’agrumes confits sont présents, arrondi par du chêne toasté et par un piquant poivrée vers la fin.

Fin

Une fin persistante et beurrée, presque comme d’un Chardonnay, marquée par des arômes de genièvre, du chêne toasté et de noisettes.

Suggestions
de présentation

Notre Chardonnay Cask Aged Gin n’est pas fait pour être mélangé avec du Tonic. Il se déguste plutôt pur, à température ambiante ou sur glace avec un zeste d’orange. Vous pouvez aussi l’essayer comme Old Fashioned ou Negroni. Santé !

Millesimes
2018

Opyos
Cask Aged Gin

 

Notre Opyos Cask Aged Gin est le tout premier gin fabriqué au Luxembourg qui a mûri dans des fûts et qui est une version limitée.

Processus
de maturation

Nous avons utilisé des fûts de sherry Oloroso pour un corps plus puissant et des notes de fruits de noisette, du nouveau chêne du Caucase pour apporter des arômes finement détaillés, tels que la vanille et le caramel, et des fûts de vin usés du Luxembourg pour capturer l’essence de notre terroir luxembourgeois.

Le bouquet unique d’Opyos Luxembourg Dry Gin, fusionné avec les différentes caractéristiques du bois, a eu six mois pour devenir un mélange parfait. Avant de le mettre en bouteille à 47 % vol, nous ne filtrons pas à froid et nous n’ajoutons rien d’artificiel.

Notes
de dégustation

Nez

En commençant par des arômes croquants et complexes comme la vanille, le zeste d’orange confit et des notes poivrées. Tout cela vient du bois. Suivi de notes vives et classiques de genévrier et de coriandre.

Palais

Plutôt gras et beurré. Les notes épicées sont arrondies par le boisé avec une finale agréable de la saveur très caractéristique d’Opyos.

Fin

On peut savourer une sensation encore plus persistante et plus parfumée qu’avec notre Dry Gin. Des notes de noisettes et d’herbes incitent à une finition particulière.

Suggestions
de présentation

Comme pour notre Dry Gin, nous vous recommandons de le savourer pur ou sur un gros glaçon. Il se déguste également merveilleusement avec du Ginger Beer ou dans un cocktail.

You must be 18 years old to visit this site.

Please verify your age

CASK AGED GIN

Cask Aged
product line

Our Opyos Cask Aged Gin is a barrel aged Gin that is released every year in a strictly limited edition. The common feature of this exclusive product line, which has been developed over the years, is the passion of experimenting with the diversity of new and reconditioned oak casks.The interplay between the characteristics of the spirit and the aromatics of the wood are resulting in a versatile and exciting product line. Scroll down do discover the different vintages.

Vintage
2019

Chardonnay
Cask Aged Gin

Our Opyos Chardonnay Cask Aged Gin is the second release of our ‘Cask Aged’ series and limited to 999 bottles.

Maturing
process

We have aimed to make the edition 2019 more local than ever, by firstly maturing our classic Dry Gin in new oak barrels from Luxembourg, originating from the forests of Berdorf. These medium toasted casks are adding an additional layer of complexity to the spirit and are enhancing flavours of fresh spices, earthy notes and a light smokiness.

It is then transferred to reconditioned French oak Chardonnay barriques from the cellars of Maison Viticole Schmit-Fohl, in order to capture and balance the essential particularities of the Chardonnay casks, marked by toasty fruit nuances, spicy hazelnut aromas and a clear amber appearance.

Tasting
Notes

Nose

Fresh and versatile citrus notes are emerging first and are followed by hints of nougat and vanilla, which are complemented by a well incorporated smokiness.

Palate

Complex, almost sweet, creamy texture, candied citrus flavours are present, rounded-off by toasted oak notes and towards the end by a peppery spiciness.

Finish

A persistent and buttery, almost Chardonnay like finish that is marked by juniper, toasted oak and hazelnut aromas.

Serving
Suggestions

Our Chardonnay Cask Aged Gin is not made to be mixed with tonic. You should rather enjoy it straight, at room temperature, or on the rocks with an orange zest. Alternatively, try it out in an Old Fashioned or Negroni. Cheers!

Vintage
2018

Opyos
Cask Aged Gin

Our 2018 released Opyos Cask Aged Gin is the first-ever gin made in Luxembourg that has matured in casks.

Maturing
process

We have included Oloroso Sherry butts for a stronger body and nutty fruit notes, new Caucasian oak to contribute finely detailed aromas, such as vanilla and caramel, and used wine barrels from Luxembourg to capture the essence of our Luxembourgish terroir.
The unique botanical bouquet of Opyos Luxembourg Dry Gin merged with the different characteristics of the wood, are given six months to become one fine blend. Before bottling it at 47% vol., we neither chill-filter, nor add anything unnatural. Our Opyos Cask Aged Gin is the first-ever gin made in Luxembourg that has matured in casks and is a limited release.

Tasting
Notes

Nose

Starting with crisp and complex aromas like vanilla, candied orange zest and peppery notes. All this comes from the wood. Followed by bright, classic juniper and coriander notes.

Palate

Rather bold and buttery. A spiciness is rounded off by the woodiness, with a pleasant finish of the very characteristic Opyos flavour.

Finish

An even more fragrant and longer lingering sensation than with our Dry Gin can be enjoyed. Hints of hazelnuts and different herbal touches are inciting a special finish.

Serving
Suggestions

Same as for our Dry Gin we recommend you enjoy it neat, or on a large ice cube. It also works wonderful with ginger beer or in a cocktail.

You must be 18 years old to visit this site.

Please verify your age